Saturday, June 9, 2012

No to Domino's

So the end of the school year is among us.  My daughters teacher was having a pizza party and let us know she was getting a GF pizza from Domino's for my daughter.

Thanks for the thoughtfulness but without even researching it at that time we said "no thank you" and brought in a homemade GF pizza when they had the party.

So I did some digging and indeed Domino's does now offer a gluten free crust.  They did work with the NFCA but (from their website FAQ):

Domino's worked closely with the NFCA and recognizes that with our current operational model we cannot, beyond all doubt, provide the environment needed to assure those with celiac disease that the whole pizza is 100 percent gluten free.

They do not use separate ingredients so their is a high risk if not certain risk that their will be cross contamination.  The crust includes:

Gluten Free Crust: Water, Rice Flour, Rice Starch, Potato Starch, Olive Oil,
Evaporated Cane Juice, Tapioca Flour, Potato Flour, Fresh Yeast, Avicel, Salt, Calcium Propionate



So maybe a salad?  No, that is out too.  They state that although it is made at a separate station it shares ingredients with the pizzas and there is a risk of contamination.

So they do have a GF crust but DO NOT have a GF Pizza.

Ciao,

The Un-Gluten Guy

No comments:

Post a Comment